Sitting Down vs Standing Up

Sitting down in front of a desk is no longer the only option for your working position. There’s a new “normal” now: standing.

Sitting down in front of a desk is no longer the only option for your working position. There’s a new “normal” now: standing.

During my time in the office, I loathe myself because I don’t get as much exercise since I am stuck in my chair and desk for almost 8 hours daily for five days in a week (even beyond that during my law firm days). I recently came across this infographic on how sitting down is actually killing you:

Sitting is Killing You
Via: Medical Billing And Coding

I once came into my professor’s office and saw him typing while standing. It was rather odd at first, but now I think there might be some benefits to it. Then I came across this article on how a standing desk is actually beginning to be quite a trend, in several offices in the U.S. at least.

So I made my makeshift standing desk, whereby I put my laptop on top of two boxes on my desk. I also put a mat under where I am standing as they say it makes your feet more comfortable.

My makeshift standing desk
My makeshift standing desk

My own assumption is that standing up will not only give you the added exercise, but it will also help to keep you focus on your work. When you’re sitting down and feeling comfortable, you tend to procrastinate. I will try this out for a few weeks and I will let you know how it goes.

Of course, this doesn’t substitute the need for you to get out and exercise. Being stuck in the office/study room/library doesn’t give you an excuse to miss out on your daily calorie burn (yes, I’m writing this to remind myself also).

1 thought on “Sitting Down vs Standing Up”

Comments are closed.