Nununesia

In Indonesia, there’s this disease called Nununesia. It’s a selected memory loss which occurs conveniently when you’re called by the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) due to your alleged involvement in a high-profile bribery base involving several legislators.

I first wrote about Ms. Nunun Nurbaeti in my blog here, ending with a bet for how long can she be on the run with the Interpol wanted list on her back. Turns out, I was way out of my initial bet of 10 days which turned out to be 6 months.

Tempo reported that she was on the loose for so long because she had some help from an international security firm based in Bangkok (the last place where she was captured). The whole protection (or rather, escape) scheme ran like an intelligence operation, led by a former US Marine, Mr. Philip B. Christensen. When asked about further information on Philip, Mr. Troy Pederson, the Press Attache of the US Embassy in Jakarta replied, “Sorry, our laws forbid it”.

Now that she’s back for questioning by the KPK, the whole story about her recurring memory loss is amusing:

Doctors at the National Police hospital, where Nunun was treated, recently confirmed claims voiced by her family that she was suffering from dementia, a condition where a person experiences a declining ability to memorize and think.

Funny, her disease didn’t seem to stop her socialite lifestyle and the ability to mix and match with the latest bags from Hermes and Birkin, and oh, those LV scarves. I’m guessing she didn’t seem to forget where to shop for those goods during her escapades in Singapore, Laos and Bangkok.

Nunun on her way to Jakarta after her capture in Bangkok, Thailand. Photography: TEMPO
4 thoughts on “Nununesia”

  1. Sometimes I wonder whether if a complete sociology of this system of corruption would be published, it would read as a drama or a comedy.

    Anyhow I think this post’s style – bitter irony- is the best way to look at it to keep one’s cool and prevent getting over-enraged.

    PS: Will she sing, will she name accomplices, will she reveal where they did hide the loot? My bet is no, no and no.

  2. @Mauricio: don’t you have you kids? Don’t they always turn very sweet and innocent every time you catch them out?

    When I hear stories like this, I always ask, \where are these people’s friends?

    If I started showing up with nice things, I like to think my friends would start asking where I got them and threaten to de-friend me if they found out I got them through illicit means. But I guess that’s probably very naive. Evidence seems to suggest that our friends are very good at over-looking our faults…

  3. Are you suggesting, Reuben, that religion is like a game that kids play in order to get away with murder? Please don’t insult children by likening their innocence and sweetness to religion!

Comments are closed.